Aussie whiz kids head to Olympic Games for science students

Aussie whiz kids head to Olympic Games for science students

Teams announcement at Parliament House, Canberra, 24 June 2019

The Australian Science Olympiads program has selected 17 of Australia’s brightest high school scientists to represent Australia at the UNESCO-sanctioned International Science Olympiads from July to September. The young Olympians will compete against some of the world’s smartest teenagers in the International Science Olympiads taking place in Hungary (Biology), France (Chemistry), Republic of Korea (Earth Science), and Israel (Physics).

The young Olympians will receive their Australian team blazers at an official team announcement ceremony at Parliament House in Canberra, on Monday 24 June.

This year’s teams include the first Tasmanian student to represent Australia in more than 20 years, and the first time three students from Canberra have been selected in one year since Australia began competing at the International Science Olympiads in 1988.

Year 12 student Imogen Viner from Hobart College, who will represent Australia in Earth Science said, “I was inspired to sit the Australian Science Olympiad exams after participating in the national Curious Minds program, and I am excited to be flying the flag for Tasmania at the International Earth Science Olympiad.”

The three students from Canberra will compete in physics and Earth Science.

“For me to make it through to the International Physics Olympiad is a dream come true. I am here because of my brilliant science teachers who encouraged me to have a go,” says Rosemary Zielinski from Merici College in Canberra.

The Year 11 and 12 students represent 16 schools from the ACT, NSW, TAS, and VIC. They have spent a year in exams and intensive training to make the cut. They succeeded against more than 6,000 other students from more than 321 schools in the qualifying exams, making a shortlist of 93 to attend training at the Australian National University in preparation for the Olympiads.

The Australian team members for the International Science Olympiads are:

International Biology Olympiad
14 to 21 July, Szeged, Hungary  
Bahaar Bahaar (Gaia) Year 12 Melbourne Girls Grammar VIC
Elaine Cheung Year 12 Mac.Robertson Girls’ High School VIC
Helen Han Year 12 James Ruse Agricultural High School NSW
Felix Pemberton-Adams Year 12 St Michael’s Grammar School VIC
International Chemistry Olympiad
21 to 30 July, Paris, France
Tom Harrison-Brown Year 12 Sydney Grammar School NSW
Richard Huang Year 11 James Ruse Agricultural High School NSW
Joshua Lin Year 12 Sydney Church of England Grammar School NSW
William Liu Year 12 Knox Grammar School NSW
International Physics Olympiad
7 to 15 July, Tel Aviv, Israel
Stephen Catsamas Year 12 Marcellin College VIC
Jessie Lum Year 12 Pymble Ladies’ College NSW
William Sutherland Year 12 Scotch College VIC
Simon Yung Year 12 Narrabundah College ACT
Rosemary Zielinski Year 12 Merici College ACT
International Earth Science Olympiad
26 August to 3 September, Daegu, Republic of Korea
Maxwell Etherington Year 11 Brindabella Christian College ACT
Anthony Manns Year 12 Chatswood High School NSW
Jordan Rogers Year 12 Girton Grammar School VIC
Imogen Viner Year 11 Hobart College TAS

Learn more about the Australian Science Olympiad Competition at:


Debra Maynard on 0407 299 007 or 02 9665 7182, or

Yelena Ramli on 0451 124 050 or 02 6125 6282.